Barasat, Kolkata: Azaharuddin Mallick claimed double as United SC U-19 clinched the 119th edition of IFA Shield with a clinical 2-1 win over East Bengal U-19 in the final played at Vidayasagar Krirangan in Barasat here on Sunday (31st May) afternoon.

In a match where the teams had almost equal share of possessions Azaharuddin Mallick put United SC into lead in the 21st minute, only for Arup Roy to score the leveller for East Bengal in the 61st minute but a late strike from Azaharuddin in the 84th minute saw United SC lifted the IFA Shield title twice in three years.

United SC made a bright to the proccedings and thought they were ahead in the 5th minute but Jagannath Oraon failed to put his team in front from the spot, however United SC did not regreat much about the missed opportunity as Azaharuddin Mallick scored the leading goal in the 21st minute, while after conceding East Bengal pressed hard for the equaliser but led by Provat Larkra, the United SC defence did some brilliant work to keep East Bengal attackers at bay for remainder of the half.

After change of ends, East Bengal gradually gained control over the proceedings, were rewarded in the 61st minute when Arup Roy restored the parity for Red & Gold Brigade. Thereafter East Bengal placed a flury of attacks but failed to score the elusive goal.

In the meantime United SC did create some scoring chances but failed to convert with Sandip Bhattacharjee and Azaharuddin Mallick upfront.

Just when it seemed that the match would be going into the extra-time Azaharuddin Mallick struck the IFA Shield winning goal for United SC in the 79th minute.

U-19 East Bengal XI:
Tanumay Das (GK) (1), Chattu Mondal (C) (2), Ankit Mukherjee (3), Hira Mondal (4), Indrajit Das (5), Enjamul Hoque (6), Arup Roy (8), Swaruk Hossain (14), Somnath Nayek (15), Mainak Deb (9), Achinta Ghosh (25)

U-19 United SC XI:
Subham Roy (GK) (1), Sujay Oraon (12), Subrata Lohar (4), Manotosh Chakladar (28), Provat Lakra (5), Dinesh Bhagat (26), Sona Sardar (16), Jagannath Oraon (C) (7), Sandip Bhattacharjee (15), Laxmikanta Mandi (20), Azaharuddin Mallick (22)

Man of The Match: Jagannath Oraon (United SC)

Man of The Tournament: Azaharuddin Mallick (United SC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Ajay M.