Sylhet, Bangladesh, 18th August 2015: Bangladesh beat India 4-2 on penalies to claim the title in the 2015 SAFF U-16 Championship on here Tuesday.

The final match at Sylhet District Stadium went into pentalies after a 1-1 stalemate at the end of regulation time.

Both India and Bangladesh reached to the final after beating Nepal and Afghanistan 1-0 in semifinals respectively.

After a barren first-half the hosts surged ahead when Fahim Murshed found the target from Mohammad Shawon’s cross in the 46th minute.

However, India restored the parity through Amay Avinash Morajkar, whose left-footed shot found the back of the net in the 64th minute.

Thereafter, either teams nullified each other out for the remainder of the match as the match morphed into a penalty shoot-out where Fahim, Jahangir, Atiquzzaman and Saaduddin ntted for the hosts, whereas for India Saurabh and Rakip did convert from the spot but Abhijit struck the post and Saqlaine was denied by the Bangladesh goalkeeper.

Bangladesh XI: Faisal Ahmed, Shawon Hossain, Fahim Murshed, Mohammad Ridoy, Mohammad Shawon, Emon Khan, Saad Uddin, Mohammad Atikuzzaman, Jahangir Alam Sajeeb, Khalil Bhuiyan, Mostajeb Khan

India XI: Prabhsukhan Singh Gill, Mohammad Saqline Khan, Ajin Tom, Mohammad Rakip, Jianchun Rongmei, Mohammad Shahjahan, Amay Avinash Morajkar, Rahim Ali, Abhijit Sarkar, Jerermy Laldinpuia, Aimol Chongompipa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Ajay M.