MIZORAM: Chanmari FC are once again Mizoram Premier League champions after rising to see off challengers Bethlehem Vengthlang FC in emphatic fashion.

Goals from Ugo, Vanlalbiaa and R. Malsawmtluanga were enough to ensure the one time champions lift the trophy once more.

It was an intense affair in front of a packed crowd at AR Ground between two teams at the top of the table. Chanmari FC made a better start and enjoyed more possession while it was BVT FC that threatened first through a set-piece with Mawitea coming close.

Chanmari FC were denied by the woodwork when Malsawmfela struck a sweet ball past BVT goalkeeper Mala. But they were dealt with hard luck a few minutes into the game as integral attacker Fela Zote had to be taken off. Rammawia, a Bethlehem Vengthlang resident came on to take his place.

BVT looked to strike first and came close again, as Dina Varte struck the cross bar before seeing another play from a set-pice drift just wide. But it was Chanmari FC who took the lead against the run of play when centerback Ugo rose to guide home their opener from a corner.

From then on it was more or less one-way traffic with the pace of Chanmari FC’s frontline testing their opponents time and again.

BVT would feel aggrieved after they were denied a penalty from a handball which the referee missed. And Dinpuia also missed a glorious chance to give his side an equaliser after failing to direct his shot properly.

Chanmari FC then doubled their lead after BVT’s goalkeeper Mala failed to deal with a freekick from Chanmari FC, and pacy midfielder Mabiaa needed no invitation to put the ball in the back of the net.

Chanmari FC threatened again through Rammawia and Malsawmfela but it was R. Malsawmtluanga who made sure of the win when he struck from 25 yards in stoppage time. The result saw Chanmari FC lift the prestigious MPL trophy for the second time.

Chanmari FC were the winners of MPL2 and lost the last two finals to Aizawl FC.  However,  this season they thrashed their main rival Aizawl FC 6-2 in the semi finals and clinched the title in style by defeating Bethlehem Vengthlang FC in the final.

Leave a Reply