MIZORAM: An even final battle saw Chhinga Veng FC overcome a fight from Chanmari FC to win the Great Sports Independence Day Football Cup 2017 with a 2-1 in victory after extra-time. The match was played at Lammual Ground, Aizawl in front of a vocal crowd.

Chanmari FC began on the front foot and got their breakthrough right at the start when Jacob Lalhlimpuia struck in the 2nd minute. PC Zosanga’n fine delivery was finished off by Jacob to give his side the lead.

Chhinga Veng FC tried in vain to find an equaliser as their frontline of MS Dawngliana, Malsawmfela and Laldingngheta failed to find clear cut chances.

Chanmari FC almost doubled their lead in the second half as Muanzova forced a save from Chhinga Veng FC goalkeeper T Mawia.

And CVFC finally got their equaliser on the 56th minute when Laldinliana’s corner delivery was met by Lalrammuanpuia.

The goal gave Chhinga Veng FC renewed vigour as Laldampuia and Malsawmfela looked threatening in the second half.

After both teams ended 90 minutes with a goal a piece, it was Chhinga Veng FC who struck in the 101st minute with striker MS Dawngliana scoring the all-important winning goal.

Champions Chhinga Veng FC took home Rs. 1 lac as prize money with Chanmari FC pocketing Rs. 50,000.

Chhinga Veng FC also took home the Fair Play Award while striker Malsawmfela was named Top Scorer with 6 goals and midfield maestro R. Malsawmtluanga bagged the Best Player Award.

Semi-finalists Bethlehem Vengthlang FC and Aizawl FC both received Rs. 10,000 as well.

Meanwhile, Pachhunga University College beat their final opponents Hrangbana College in a one-sided final of the Great Sports Independence Day Women’s Football Tournament 2017 played today at Lammual, Aizawl.

Free-scoring PUC had already found the net 21 times in two games, and they had no trouble finding the net in their final clash.

India Junior international Grace Lalrampari scored a hattrick supported by doubles from Lalhmingmawii and Vanlalhriatkimi with Lalnunmawii, K. Lalhruaizeli and Lalthansangi each finding the net.

Champions Pachhunga University College took home Rs. 20,000 as prize money, with Hrangbana College taking home Rs. 10,000.

Women’s Polytechnic won the Fair Play Award, while PUC’s goal machine Grance H. Lalrampari was voted the Best Player and he 14 strikes ensured her place as the Top Scorer as well.

Leave a Reply