GOA: The Goa Football Association (GFA) has suspended 46 players for participating in unregistered football tournament in the State recently.

The players include Indian Super League, I-League, Goa Pro League as well as other lower division players.

Goa is a footballing hub and one can witness football tournaments in every village across the State. Most of these tournaments are recognized by GFA but there are many which are conducted without the affiliation of the State football governing body.

The players have been asked to surrender their playing license to the GFA office and are suspended from all football related activities until further notice.

GFA has evidence in the form of photographs and videos and players are directed to show cause within seven days as to why further disciplinary action should not be taken against them.

The tough stand of the State football governing body came after the match officials continuously protested against the players’ participation in unregistered tournaments ever since the suspension of five match officials for officiating in such tournaments.

Complete List of suspended players

Romeo Fernandes, Gabriel Fernandes, Brandon Fernandes, Keenan Almeida, Joshua Vaz, Kingslee Fernandes, Anthony D’Souza, Agnelo Colaco, Seriton Fernandes, Victorino Fernandes, Joaquim Abranches, Samir Naik, Velito Cruz, Don Bosco Fernandes, Joaquim Carvalho, Jovel Martins, Mauvin Borges, Bharat Thapa, Clencio Pinto, Suraj Hadkonkar, Franzil Negredo, Micky Fernandes, Richard Costa, Nicholas Fernandes, Alesh Sawant, Joy Ferrao, Melwin Lobo, Jessel Carneiro, Peter Carvalho, Latesh Mandrekar, Lenny Pereira, Brian Mascarenhas, Leander D’Cunha, Marcus Mascarenhas, Mario Mascarenhas, Aaren D’Silva, Melroy Fernandes, Bruno Colaco, Nicolau Colaco, Cajetan Fernandes, Glan Martins, Raju Haldankar, Aniston Fernandes, Jyotesh Palkar, Tyson Caiado, Adil Khan

Leave a Reply