MUMBAI: The Official Draw for the FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 has taken place at Hotel Sahara Star in Mumbai, mapping out the group-stage challenge for each of the 24 teams involved.

The draw ceremony was held in the presence of Sunil Gulati, FIFA Council member, Praful Patel, President of the All India Football Federation and Vijay Goel, Indian Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports.

The pairings were drawn by some famous personalities including two amazing FIFA Legends, Nwankwo Kanu, who won the 1993 FIFA U-17 World Cup, and Esteban Cambiasso, who won the 1997 edition beside Indian national team legend Sunil Chhetri and Indian badminton star PV Sindhu, who assisted them in the draw.

The draw revealed that hosts India will take on USA in their opening match of the competition in New Delhi. Group A also includes Colombia and Ghana, who will also clash as part of the first day’s action.

Perhaps the most intriguing quartet of teams can be found in Group D, where FIFA tournament debutants Niger were drawn with Korea DPR, Brazil, and Spain.

FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017 Draw

Group A: India, USA, Colombia, Ghana
Group B: Paraguay, Mali, New Zealand, Turkey
Group C: Iran, Guinea, Germany, Costa Rica
Group D: Korea DPR, Niger, Brazil, Spain
Group E: Honduras, Japan, New Caledonia, France
Group F: Iraq, Mexico, Chile, England

One of the highlights of the ceremony was the performance of the tournament’s Official Song. Pritam and Babul Supriyo revealed ‘Kar Ke Dikhla De Goal’ for the first time, much to the delight of the assembled audience.

‘Phase II’ Tickets are now on sale. The phase will exclusively be available for Visa cardholders between 7 and 21 July. Fans will be able to buy tickets at all six venues – New Delhi, Navi Mumbai, Guwahati, Goa, Kolkata and Kochi – after knowing the teams that will play at the respective Host City.

Credits: FIFA Media

Leave a Reply