Kolkata: Mohammedan Sporting Club, announced their final team list for upcoming Calcutta Football League Premier Division – A, in a press conference held at Park Hotel in Kolkata on Tuesday.

They have also roped a new sponsor for new season. Meethi, a local cold drinks maker brand, was named as the sponsor of the 124-year-old club which has been in financial problem for sometime now.

We did not endorse any liquor or cigarette brand as our sponsor even when we had a chance to do so. We had to face some financial crisis. We could not do well for last few seasons because of this financial hardship but I hope the new venture will bear fruit,” club president Sultan Ahmed told reporters.

Once last year the club officials decided that the club would pull out of the second division I-League due to financial problems. However, it did not happened for good and the club did participate in the tournament.

Ahmed is hopeful that the team would do well  and qualify for the I-League first division next year and once again play alongside city rivals East Bengal and Mohun Bagan.

We have won the Durand Cup (2013) and the IFA Shield (2014) recently and this year we are going to compete in the I-League second division. Hopefully we will be back in the I-League first division by next year,” Ahmed added further.

MP Deepak Adhikari (Dev), attended the program as the chief guest and unveiled the new jersey. Singer Anupom Roy has sang the theme song and released the new theme song of Mohammedan Sporting Club. Bengal actress Koneenica Banerjee and actor Hiran beside the Mayor of Kolkata Mr. Sovan Chatterjee were also present at the event.

Meanwhile, Nigerian defender Kareem Omolaja Nurain will be leading the Black Panthers in upcoming season.

Mohammedan Sporting Club squad for 2015-16 season follows:

Goalkeepers: Ishan Debnath, SK. Sadekuddin, Dibakar Mondal, Naseem Akhtar

Defenders: Sourav Chakrabory, Bikramjit Singh, Kamrim Omolaja Nurain (Foreigner; Captain), Misbahuddin, Tonmoy Ghosh, Deepak Kumar, Kamran Farooq

Midfielders: Rajinder Kumar, Dipendu Duwary, Basanta Singh, Mumtaz Akhtar, Dipankar Das, Rana Gharami, Dolphine Bernard (Foreigner), Bijender Gurung, Tanmoy Mondal, Suraj Bahadur, Deepak Kachap, Irfan Khan, Monirul Mondal, Rana Gharami, Bijoy Mandi

Forwards: Sourav Mallick, Suraj Mondal, Nurudeen Olawale (Foreigner), Ajay Singh, Manash Sarkar, Ricky Lalremsiama

Coach: Mridul Baneerjee

Photo By: Ujjal Sarkhel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Ujjal Sarkhel

Correspondent of The Home of Indian Football