KOLKATA: The Indian Football Association (West Bengal) has named the 20-member Senior State Football Team for the East Zone qualifiers of the 71st National Football Championship for the Santosh Trophy, commencing from 28th December at Bokaro, Jharkhand.

Coached by Mridul Banerjee, who adjudged as the best coach in the 2016/17 Calcutta Premier Division, players has been drawn from various Calcutta Football League clubs. IFA had organized a two weak long training camp for them at Mohammedan Sporting Club Ground.

Banerjee will be assisted by Partha Sen while Hemanta Dora would work as goalkeeper coach. Mohammedan SC skipper Rana Gharami has been handed captaincy duties.

Bengal has been placed in Group A alongwith Chattisgarh and Odisha. Bengal will start their campaign against Chattisgarh on 29th December 2016 before facing Odisha on 2nd Januray.

The 22-member West Bengal squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Sankar Roy (Peerless SC), Ankur Das (Rainbow SC), Ranajit Majumdar (Pathachakra Club).

Defenders: Rana Gharami (Mohammedan SC – Captain), Suman Hazra (Southern Samity), Santu Singh (United SC), Sourav Das Gupta (Aryan Club), Provat Lakra (United SC), Ankit Mukherjee (Aryan Club), Sujoy Oraon (United SC).

Midfielders: Prahlad Roy (East Bengal), Bishal Pradhan (SAI), Debashis Pradhan (Rainbow SC), Manotosh Chakladar (United SC), Sauvik Murmu (Kalighat MS), Shiba Chowdhury (Peerless SC).

Forwards: Jiten Murmu (East Bengal), Diptendu Das (Rainbow SC), Raja Das (Tollyguge Agragami), Rahul Paswan (Salkia Friends).

Officials: Mridul Banerjee (Head Coach), Partha Sen (Assistant Coach), Hemanta Dora (Goalkeeping Coach).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Ajay M.